Skip to content

Thank You!

June 23, 2012

I am humbled by and grateful for my nomination for two awards, especially since the nominations came from bloggers I enjoy and respect. If you’ve been around the blog world a little while, you know nominations come with requirements.  So its time for me to take care of business before diving into the GI Bill.

Reader Appreciation Award

The Reader Appreciation Award comes from Notsofancynancy .Her blog follows her father’s experiences during World War II through letters (many touching “love letters”) to his wife.  A beautiful and interesting read.

The One Lovely Blog is a nomination by J. G. Burdette whose blog is a wealth of historical and nautical information, and whose blog is one of the most technically enviable I’ve read.

Reader’s Appreciation Award: How It Works:

  1. Include the award logo somewhere in your blog.
  2. Answer these 10 questions, below, for fun if you want to.
  3. Nominate 10 to 12 blogs you enjoy. Or you pick the number.
  4. Pay the love forward: Provide your nominee’s link in your post and comment on their blog to let them know they’ve been included and invited to participate.
  5. Pay the love back with gratitude and a link to the blogger(s) who nominated you.

The Questions…

  1. What is your favorite color?  Blue
  2. What is your favorite animal? One particularly soulful hound named Al
  3. What is your favorite non-alcoholic drink? Iced Tea, unsweetened with lots of lemons
  4. Facebook or Twitter? Both – To me they serve different purposes.
  5. Favorite pattern? I love the predictable way my family celebrates birthdays and Christmas.  There’s joy in recognizing the good stuff of life.
  6. Do you prefer getting or giving presents? Giving, because its so much more rewarding when you get it right.
  7. Favorite number? 13
  8. Favorite day of the week? Friday.  Its always been kind of my “Me” day.
  9. Favorite flower? Apricot roses
  10. What is your passion? My family.  My husband and children especially but also our family heritage and extended family.

I nominate the following blogs:

broeder10.wordpress.com  Lots of history and even more variety make this an interesting blog to visit.

forkinmyeye,wordpress.com  Continues to be one of my favorite blogs for great writing and fantastic photography.

reclaimourrepublic.wordpress.com  Stimulating and fun reading.

thedopaminechronicles.wordpress.com   Daily insight by cartoon on living with Parkinson’s Disease.

theviewisgreat.wordpress.com    Libby Lu’s writing touches me.  One of my favorite sites.

diningwithdisease.wordpress.com  New to me, I’ve found the personal health story of this blogger/chef to be interesting and the recipes of the chef tempting.

vialucispress.wordpress.com  Dennis Aubrey’s photography  of the art and architecture of European churches is beautiful and he has been welcoming despite my lack of knowledge about the subject.

jgburdette.wordpress.com  J.G. Burdette’s blog “Map of Time” has a wealth of historical and nautical information and is one of the nicest blogs to scroll through, just on a technical basis.

The Lovely Blog Award:  How It Works

  1.  Thank the person who gave you this award
  2. Include a link to their blog
  3. Pass the award onto 15 blogs, that is nominate/award another 15 blogs (I’m nominating fewer but they are ones I truly like and respect.)
  4. Tell 7 things about yourself:

* I love bluegrass music.
* I collect old books, especially those from the *turn of the century (late 1800’s – early 1900’s.
* I am almost to the end of Al’s Journey Through World War II and am hunting for my next inspiration.
* I’d love to write the great American novel but only have a couple of pages.
* Black and white photographs fascinate me as do photos of abandoned buildings.
* I married exceedingly well.  Best thing I ever did.
* I’ve always wanted to go to County Derry, Ireland and see where my family came from.

I nominate the following blogs:

broeder10.wordpress.com  Lots of history and even more variety make this an interesting blog to visit.

forkinmyeye,wordpress.com  Continues to be one of my favorite blogs for great writing and fantastic photography.

reclaimourrepublic.wordpress.com  Stimulating and fun reading.

thedopaminechronicles.wordpress.com   Daily insight by cartoon on living with Parkinson’s Disease.

theviewisgreat.wordpress.com    Libby Lu’s writing touches me.  One of my favorite sites.

diningwithdisease.wordpress.com  New to me, I’ve found the personal health story of this blogger/chef to be interesting and the recipes of the chef tempting.

vialucispress.wordpress.com  Dennis Aubrey’s photography  of the art and architecture of European churches is beautiful and he has been welcoming despite my lack of knowledge about the subject.

Thanks again to Nancy of notsofancynancy.wordpress.com for the nomination and the enjoyment I get from her blog.  Check it out!  And thanks to J.G. Burdette  of http://jgburdette.wordpress.com for the vote of confidence and the history education.

From → Blogging, peers

2 Comments
  1. Congratulations, and you are very welcome.

    Thanks for the nomination for the Reader Appreciation Award. I’ll pass it along when I get the chance.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. A Book Review and Blog Awards | Map of Time | A Trip Into the Past

Leave a Reply

