Skip to content

For love of country they accepted death… ~James A. Garfield

May 25, 2012

In my family, we have been blessed.  My father was a career Marine, who served in Korea as well as two tours of duty in Vietnam.   My father-in-law, after spending his time during World War II in the Navy, went to college and then joined the Army Corps of Engineers.   This whole blog discusses my step-father, Al’s, Army experience during World War II.  Members of our extended family have served or are serving as well. We are blessed in that none of these men have been killed in duty.

Other families have been less fortunate.  I include here a few of Al’s journal entries during  World War II, indicating heartbreak for someone’s family and friends back home.  For every family who has sacrificed a family member or members to the service of our country, I offer up this post.  If, like me, you have not, I ask you to take a moment this weekend to remember and honor those we have lost.  Thank you.

        

4 Comments
  1. Thanks for sharing the pages from the notebook. The small pages really helped me picture how a young soldier might pull a small notebook out of his pocket, quickly jot down a few important notes, and then put it back in his pocket.

    • Thanks Sheryl. I’d never thought to share the pages from that particular perspective, even though I’ve marveled that Al carried that journal through the mud and muck, heat and ice of Italy straight through to Germany and there’s only an occasional smudge. It obviously was important to him. Thanks for the added insight.

  2. I have nominated you for the Creative Chaos Award. I just wanted you to know I think your blog is awesome! You do not have to accept it but if you want to to see what you have to do to keep it click here (http://wp.me/p2eEip-fP). It was kind of fun!

    • That is so kind and so appreciated. I’ve been inspired by you and alot of others so I’ll happily accept. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

